D.C. United hosts Columbus as full MLS playoff schedule announced

first_imgMajor League Soccer announced its 2018 playoff schedule on Sunday, following the final round of regular-season matches. D.C. United, led by the resurgent Wayne Rooney, earned the fourth seed in the Eastern Conference and will host the fifth-seed Columbus Crew on Thursday at Audi Field in a knockout round game.  Third-seeded New York City FC will host the six-seed Philadelphia Union on Wednesday in the East’s other knockout round match, with the winners of those two games set to face the New York Red Bulls and Atlanta United in the conference semifinals.In the Western Conference, fourth-seed FC Dallas will host the fifth-seeded Portland Timbers on Wednesday, while third-seed Los Angeles FC hosts sixth-seed Real Salt Lake on Thursday. Those two winners will move on to the conference semifinal, where Sporting Kansas City and the Seattle Sounders await. 🔜 Knockout RoundLock it in. // Audi #MLSCupPlayoffs pic.twitter.com/Vlc5PF7TCq— Major League Soccer (@MLS) October 29, 2018The conference semifinals will take place over two legs, with games Nov. 4, Nov. 8 and Nov. 11. Winners of the conference semifinals will face off in the two-leg conference finals on Nov. 25 and Nov. 29. Those two winners of those ties will take part in MLS Cup on Dec. 8, at the home of the team with the better regular season record. For the full MLS playoff bracket, click HERE.last_img